South Africa: President Zuma Appoints Chairperson and Deputy Chairperson of the Financial and Fiscal Commission

Written by  Jul 03, 2017

President Jacob Zuma has in terms of section 221(1) (a) of the Constitution of the Republic of South Africa, 1996, and section 8 of the Financial and Fiscal Commission Act, 1997, appointed Professor Daniel Plaatjies as Chairperson and Dr Sibongile Muthwa as Deputy Chairperson of the Financial and Fiscal Commission (FFC).

Prof Plaatjies has served in various senior positions in the national and provincial governments. He is currently a part- time commissioner of the FFC since September 2013.

He has also served as a Deputy Director-General of Strategy and Business Development at the South African Social Security Agency and is a former Director: Public Finances at the National Treasury. Prof Plaatjies is also a former Head and Director of the Wits School of Governance and is currently a visiting Professor at the University of Free State, School of Business Administration.

Dr Muthwa is the Deputy Vice-Chancellor: Institutional Support at the Nelson Mandela Metropolitan University. She served as Director-General of the Eastern Cape Provincial Government and in various positions at local institutions of higher learning. She has been a part-time Commissioner of the FFC since July 2014.

Their institutional memory and expertise as well as their experience as serving members of the FFC will add enormous value to the Commission. The Commission's primary objective is to make recommendations to Parliament, the provincial legislatures, local government and other organs of state on financial and fiscal matters as envisaged in the Constitution and other national legislation.

The chairperson serves full time while the deputy chairperson position is part-time. President Zuma has congratulated Prof Plaatjies and Dr Muthwa and wishes them all the best in their new responsibilities.



  1. Opinions and Analysis


« April 2018 »
Mon Tue Wed Thu Fri Sat Sun
2 3 4 5 6 7 8
9 10 11 12 13 14 15
16 17 18 19 20 21 22
23 24 25 26 27 28 29